Losing friends

Do you ever get that feeling that the friends you have are only superficial. 

I have been going through some pretty upsetting dramas with these so called friends and I’ve come to realise that it is not important how many friends you have but the quality of the ones you have. 

My son is almost 5 months old and I have friends who have not met him, and haven’t really made any effort to even check in with me and ask how I am. 

It’s bizarre to me that they would not want to even meet him. Then again I am bias.

We invited all our friends to his baptism and most of them said no. 

I’m at the point where I am just over it. My family are so important to me and they care about me and Max. They can’t wait more than a couple of days to see us. That’s the kind of love you should surround yourself with. 

5 months my baby has been in this world. Not a single, “hey how u feeling?” Or “how’s Bub?”

Am I overreacting? 

Should I be the one texting them? 

I don’t know. But who needs the drama when you have a baby to look after, a house to clean, and a hubby to love. Not me. 

6 thoughts on “Losing friends

  1. My heart sank reading this post. I think that some of our friends will start to understand when they have kids of their own. They’re in a different place and they don’t know how to react. My husband and I loaded up our daughter and dog to drive 2 hours to fit time in with a friend this past weekend and he was upset with us that we didn’t stay the night. (My parents agreed to watch our daughter and was 20 minutes away). That friend and his girlfriend had stayed the night with us when they came to visit so it just seemed natural for us to repay the visit. It’s just different with little ones – even when the friends do come around. But I think if we extend them grace and just let their absences go, we’ll all be better for it when they come around. Praying that you’ll find peace in this adjustment. I know I struggled a lot.

    1. It is definitely not easy. It is upsetting to think that our friends can not see we are doing our best. I have 2 other friends who are more than happy to come over and just relax with us, they help cook dinner and watch a movie… It doesn’t feel like work with them. Then there’s friends that we dread making plans with because there is always drama and just hanging out isn’t good enough. One day they might see that having a family is more important than anything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

