Welcome to the world little one.

The birth story, here goes.

I was told on the monday that they had found a mark for decreased liver function in my blood test, which along with the blood pressure issues meant that my Pre-eclampsia was now becoming an issue. After speaking with a couple of doctors it was decided that I would be induced on the Thursday if I hadn’t gone into labour myself by then. I would be 38 weeks and 2 days.

Let’s just say I didn’t go by myself…

So, at 5am hubby and I woke up, got ready, and packed the car with the bags for the hospital.

This is my ‘Oh my God we are having a baby today’ face

IMG_4111

Looking back at these pictures is making me all nostalgic. I kind of miss my belly… Anyway on to the rest of the story…

We arrived at the hospital and went to check in, waited about 10 min until someone spoke to us, and with grins on our faces we  said ‘We are here to have a baby’, and they said ‘you’re in the wrong place, go next door’…So off i waddled and we then waited for about 40 min in the waiting room next door. It was a strange feeling knowing that in an hour or so you will be in labour. The certainty and finality of pregnancy was summed up as I waited for them to come and collect me.

 I was then ushered into a birthing room and proceeded to put on my gown and check out the facilities (the bathroom). Then a midwife came in and asked us to go and wait in a small room because they had a lady who had just arrived and was about to have her baby in the hallway. Fair enough.

We waited there for about 5 mins until the midwife returned and informed us that they had just delivered a baby, in the room with all our stuff in it. We laughed, but knew that the chances of our baby coming that quickly was pretty slim. She checked us into another room and promised we would’t be moved again. She also strapped me up to monitoring so they could check contractions and make sure baby was doing ok.

I waited for a doctor to come and break my waters, and meanwhile a nurse put in my first IV. Hubby had started paying some music which was helping with the mood. Generally everyone was happy and joking. In my mind it was all going to plan.

Some of the music I listened to;

-Sigur Ros

-Damien Rice

-Radiohead

-‘I am Sam’ soundtrack (The Beatles)

-Edith Piaf

The doctor came, and spent a while trying to break my waters, but finally they broke, and she informed me that I was already 5cm dilated. Which I am told is pretty awesome considering it was my first pregnancy. They then started the drip to make the contractions come stronger and faster. This didn’t take very long to have an affect.

After an hour or so, I was having contractions and my midwife was feeling my belly to see how long they were lasting…

My mum and sister had come to see me at this point and were talking to me and seeing me breath through each contraction and were not concerned that they would miss anything so they went down to get some lunch. This was about 12pm and I wasn’t yet considered in active labour.

As you can see by my face, the pain was totally manageable.

IMG_4127

The main doctor (the one that broke my waters) wanted a second IV put in my left arm so 3 different people tried to get one in with no luck. This all took a lot of time and meanwhile my contractions were getting very strong. I asked if I could have some help with the pain so my midwife got me started on the gas. This helped me a lot with staying calm and controlling my breathing and I honestly don’t know if I could have done it the rest of the way without it. The anaesthesiologist came in to have a crack at putting the IV in again and by this point I was in active labour, my contractions were super close together and were only getting stronger.

Im not sure exactly how long my mum and sister were gone for, maybe 40 min, but in that time I had started to really focus on the pain which meant I closed my eyes and used the gas to control my breathing. Stuart had asked them to come back in the room because I seemed like I was in a lot of pain. I think he needed the support just as much as I did. The next 2 and a half  hours were a blur honestly. I was having extremely intense contractions very close together, with barely 5-6 seconds break in between.

The midwife suggested I go to the toilet, so with a lot of help I tried to walk to the toilet. This was by far the worst point in my labour because I was on the toilet and got the urge to push. Let me tell you, for those of you who haven’t had a baby, the urge to push is completely involuntary and extremely strong. Honestly i’m lucky I even made it back to the bed because the gravity of me getting off the bed and walking around was enough to get baby out!

The point in labour when they finally say you can push is such a relief. The contractions in my experience were far more painful than pushing. I could feel that he was there and that he was coming out and I had no doubt that I could do it.

So I started pushing and 5 pushes later he was out.

I think in total my active labour was about 2 hours and 45 min and about 10 min of pushing (if that).

Maxwell James Hugo Bush

Born at 3.20 pm

19 – 03 – 15

9 pounds 1 ounce or 4.1kg

50cm long

and perfect.

IMG_4129

What happened for the next couple of hours was not so fun. In fact I would say it was almost worse than anything I felt in labour. After I birthed the placenta which took around 40 min the doctor began to stitch me up. Unfortunately because Max came so quickly I tore internally and externally. The doctor applied local anaesthetic but because the muscles were what tore there was no real relief from the pain. After over an hour of this he said he had to get a more senior doctor to finish off. After waiting some time for the senior doctor to arrive she was not happy with the stitching and took it all out and started again. As you can imagine its now been a couple of hours since the birth and my bits are all swollen and sore. I then had to sit through another hour long session of stitches. It was horrible. It brought me to tears, which the labour had not done. I am sitting here 2 months postpartum and I am lucky that it was done properly, but still…it sucked.

After they cleaned me up, my in-laws came and my older sister and they weighed baby in front of everyone. It was really nice. This baby is already so loved by everyone. I am so lucky to have such an amazing support system around me. My mum and sister were amazing throughout the labour, helping me with water and encouragement. My husband was the best father from the moment Max was conceived. He really is a blessing. I love our little family and can not wait to see Max grow and change.

I took this photo at around 1am, once everyone had left. It was just Max and I sitting there together on his first night in the world. Man, I am the luckiest girl in the world.

20150319_214903

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the world little one.

Leave a Reply

