31 Weeks pregnant

31 Weeks pregnant. I have to keep pinching myself. It’s so strange to think that I was once 13 weeks pregnant and hating life, feeling sick all the time and miserable. Now, I am feeling baby move all the time, we have most of the big stuff he needs like cots and prams, and we have started painting his room. He is really starting to feel like a little person. Although we still can’t decide on a name. Hubby wants to wait until we see him which I agree with but I just find myself getting impatient not knowing. I can imagine that we will just ‘know’ what his name is when we see his face for the first time. At least that’s the fantasy.

I have really been enjoying bonding with baby and hubby together. When we get into bed at night we spend about 30 min talking to my belly, reading stories and playing music. It’s so nice to have such a closeness to hubby at this time. I think it will help us be close when the baby is here if we stick to the same routines. I would like to spend some time every night talking to hubby and cuddling before we fall asleep. I hope that this will help us to when we are finding it really difficult.

My baby shower has been planned by my sister and all the invites have gone out. I am super excited! It will probably be the last time I have something fun like for a while. I can imagine for the next few years it will be all about baby and celebrating all his firsts and who knows, maybe I might even think about having another baby!

It’s getting down to the nitty gritty part of the pregnancy. I know that being a first time mum will be challenging and I am nervous about doing it properly. I guess I will do my best and ask for help when I am not sure.

Symptoms I would say have stayed the same over the last few weeks. Heartburn and indigestion, difficulty getting comfortable in bed and staying asleep and sore pelvis. Nothing I can’t deal with really.

Still wearing my normal clothes, I have 1 maternity bra and a belly band which I wear over my open jeans and thats about it really. The main issue is that it is summer here in Australia and I don’t feel comfortable in dresses or loose clothing. I feel more comfortable all tucked away in jeans and tight singlets because it gives my belly more support. So most of the time I am sweating and complaining. I think next time I might plan to be pregnant through winter.

In terms of supplements, I am still taking Blackmores Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Gold, and Ostelin Vitamin D but I am also taking Iron tablets as well because I was a bit low at one of my blood tests.

I think that is about it for now!

2 thoughts on “31 Weeks pregnant

    1. I did! He is 10 days old. I will do a post soon.
      I had a very fast labour! 3 hours…he was 9 pound 1 ounce, 50 cm long, he came out after 5 pushes!
      How is mumma feeling? (Over it im sure)

Leave a Reply

