25 Weeks Pregnant

25 weeks pregnant! Wow, the last month has gone so so fast. It’s going to be time to give birth before I know it.

Something kinda weird happened to me yesterday.

It’s definitely not one of the kind of things that you expect to happen before you have your baby, at least I didn’t expect it.

So…my boobs started leaking. And I’m not talking about a tiny bit of wetness,  I’m talking about droplets of fluid coming out of my nipples. And to be honest, I’m pretty sure I had a “what the F**K” moment. I thought this only started happening when you have a baby there to nurse on them but apparently I was wrong.

For those of you that are curious, it was almost the colour and consistency of semen, although a bit thinner I would say, and more translucent. It comes out if I gently put pressure on or around the nipple/areola. 

Naturally my first response was to google it.

I was relieved to find that it is not only perfectly normal but it is a great sign because it means that my boobies are showing signs that I might be able to breastfeed. I only say ‘might’ because my mother and both grandmothers struggled to breastfeed their kids. My mum had severe mastitis and was not able to feed past 6 weeks. I am preparing myself for the possibility that I might struggle and that it is ok to use formula if that be the case. I know that it is a bit of a controversial issue but I am completely open to either methods and I am sure I will find what works for me.

As far as other symptoms go…

My heartburn works like clockwork, from around 4pm everyday and it usually lasts until I fall asleep. I take either Tums when I am out and about or Eno to relieve it and that seems to work well for me. I can not stand anything chalky like Mylanta or bottled antacids. Eno is great because it is citrus flavoured and fizzy so it brings up any burps or indigestion very quickly and it works wonders for neutralising stomach acidity.

My belly is growing every week, and I am feeling a lot more positive since I received a belly band in the mail. I bought it off of Ebay for around $17 and it’s great for support and rounding out my belly so it looks more pregnant. I have not really bought any maternity clothes so I am trying to find ways of making my clothes more comfortable around my bump. I am still wearing my normal jeans with the buttons and zip undone and with the belly band you can’t even notice.

Hubby and I are going away for 2 nights to the hotel we stayed at on our wedding night. I am so excited to have a getaway. Hubby really needs one after working so hard on our bathroom renovation and working 2 jobs over the last few months. He is my hero.

We have a few things we want to do in the city while we are there including eating some RIBS and doing some shopping of course.

Off to pack my bags!

Leave a Reply

