Update: whether to find out gender?

I mentioned in a previous post about how my mother was against finding out the gender of our baby.

Good news.

She changed her mind.

She went shopping and found a quilt she loved and had to buy it in blue and pink because she doesn’t know the gender.

She came to me and said “I don’t know if I can afford to buy everything in both colours just incase.”

“We just won’t tell your father.”

HAHA

This made me laugh. Like roll around laughing. Mainly because I had just gone through all this stress about how I wanted to be prepared and find out. And like a week later she comes to me saying she wants to know. I don’t really see what the big deal is about keeping it all secret anyway. Either way it’s going to be their first grandchild, and they won’t love it any less if they know its gender before it’s born. Any way. Such a relief. Now I can tell her without her cracking the shits at me.

2 thoughts on “Update: whether to find out gender?

  1. It’s a funny topic. So many people ask if I’m gonna find out, I say yes and they act like I’ve just peed on the floor in front of them. The baby birthday surprise they wanted and therefore decide I should wait for isn’t gonna work for me personally, no biggie. Your Mum’s situation is part of my reason why I’d rather know.

    In any case you can tell or not tell whoever you want, I’m glad you have that weight off, it’s such an exciting thing that shouldn’t be bringing you stress! 🙂

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment. I feel so much better knowing our decision is supported by our family! So excited for the scan and for all the nesting that will follow.

Leave a Reply

