Telling my parents

After a week or two of planning and avoiding my parents the time had come to let them know something pretty special.

They were about to become grandparents for the first time.

Stu and I had decided that seeing as it was my mums 50th birthday it would be the perfect time to tell her. First of all because she would not be expecting it in the slightest. And secondly because I knew she would think it was the best birthday present ever.

I had been at work the day before and was exhausted but knew that a cake must be made. And so it began. The making and icing of the cake went surprisingly smooth, considering the level of nervousness and shaking that I was experiencing. It came time to pipe the birthday message. After some discussion we decided on ‘Happy 50th NANNA!’. We thought this would give the perfect amount of surprise, seeing as, on her first glance, she would see Happy 50th and therefore nothing out of the ordinary. But upon a second viewing she would realise that it said Nanna and not Mum.

After starting the word ‘NANNA’ I realised I had written it too big and wouldn’t fit a second ‘N’. Bugger.

Oh well.

So it finished off with ‘Happy 50th NANA!’

In the fridge it went.

I Worked the next day as usual and that night we went to a Vietnamese restaurant to start off the celebrations with Stu and I, my sister Liz and her fiancé Ben, Mum and Dad.

The Diner was pretty great really. Food and conversation were good and there was only one point in the dinner that became suspicious. My dad had ordered coconut prawns, and they looked amazing but I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to eat prawns, so I leant over to Stu and whispered to ask him. He wasn’t much help but Mum saw the whispering and gave me the ‘I’m watching you’ eyes.

After dinner we went to my parents house for presents and cake. We left the cake in the car on purpose but pretended it was by mistake, and said we would run and get it after presents. She opened all her presents, and loved them all. Dad gave her a 27″ iMac. Spoilt!!

She was so happy, she couldn’t stop smiling. Perfect time to break the news.

Stu ran and got the cake, and as I was putting the candles on my heart started beating out of my chest. I was very nervous.

“Lights out!” I yelled

The obligatory Happy Birthday song ensued.

I put the cake down in front of her and she smiled, looking at me, looked at the cake…

photo

And it clicked.

“Noooooooo!” she screamed

I don’t know that I have ever seen her jump up so quickly in my life. And the screaming.
Let’s just say it was loud. And then the crying, lots and lots of crying.

Meanwhile, Stu was filming the whole thing while standing next to my Dad. When my mum started crying, my dad was just laughing, obviously had no idea what was going on. Stu turned to him and said “Congratulations Grandpa”. This is where the filming gets crappy so I’m sure it was just them hugging.

A plan well executed I say.

They are thrilled, we are thrilled. Happy Days.

I’m so happy that it’s not a secret now, and that I can talk to them about what is happening.
My mum has already helped to book me some doctors appointments, and has been sending me quotes on Pinterest about being a grandmother.

I’m so lucky to have a loving a supportive family.

I would love to hear your stories! Comment below on how you told you parents/partners you were pregnant.

 

3 thoughts on “Telling my parents

  1. Mine was a little different because I’m 18, but my mom was really really exciting and lots of yelling and crying ensued. I told her as a graduation present. Not only had I graduated but she was going to be a grandma. Quite a milestone!! Congrats, I bet your family is so excited!! I’m happy for you.

    1. Wow, what a graduation present!! She must be so proud of you. How long did you wait before you told her? It was such a struggle keeping it from my mum for those 2 weeks we knew. Best of luck with motherhood!! x

Leave a Reply

