8 weeks pregnant

I have never been one of those people who can’t sleep through the night.

I remember once as a child the house next door caught on fire in the middle of the night and a number of fire trucks and ambulances turned up. I only know this because my parents told me about it in the morning. I didn’t stir once.

Unfortunately it seems like those days are over.

I am 8 weeks pregnant today. And last night I woke up 4 times to go to the toilet. And twice because I heard a noise.

I am so tired. I can’t summon the strength to get out of bed and go to work.

I guess this is nothing compared to what it will be like when the baby comes. But still.

Still have hunger and nausea like last week. But I think it’s more intense. My stomach feels like it’s going to implode if i don’t feed it.

I seem to be a bit snappy and emotional with hubby to. He knows its probably just hormones and does his best to make me smile. He is good like that. He will make such a wonderful father.

4 thoughts on “8 weeks pregnant

  1. I think the body prepares us for lack of sleep while pregnant so it is not such a shock to us when the baby comes. As a mother of 4, I completely sympathize with you. I hope you are feeling better soon. I promise you will forget all the negatives of pregnancy once you see that angelic face! 🙂

    1. Thank you for the reassurance. I think its just such a strange feeling when its your first pregnancy. Im sure I will soon get used to the sleepless nights. And I can barely wait to see its adorable face!

  2. Yes I second that. My little one is 16 weeks and the ride has been a little rocky but all the sleepless nights are worth it! Hopefully you should feel better very soon. I really enjoyed being pregnant in the second trimester but the first was so exhausting then the third was tiring too as she got more active and then bigger! Hope you’re keeping well and getting spoilt by your Stu – enjoy it!

    One piece of advice my friend gave me when I told her I was being lazy and doing nothing half way through my third trimester: “Oh good, do nothing as much as you can because you will never do nothing again in your life!” So I wish you lots of r&r.

    I craved fruit too! 🙂

    1. Congrats on your pregnancy!
      Its good to hear its all worth it. I havnt quite got to the stage of doing nothing yet (although I would love to if I could).
      Im still working 4-5 days a week and my workplace doesnt know im pregnant yet. So they are not really taking it easy on me.
      Stu is great but I think when we have our first scan and he hears babys heart beat it will all become more real for him.
      Thanks for commenting!!

Leave a comment